Recipe: Lasagna “Cupcakes”

By request, I’m posting a recipe for the Lasagna cupcakes that folks keep asking me about. It’s based loosely on something I saw on Pinterest…and am including only a base recipe — you can do with this what you wish!

This particular recipe is healthy, though not 100% clean eating as posted below. (check out my previous post on CLEAN EATS for the basics) I have, however, included the option to make this a clean meal – as I will be doing the next time I make it.

photo 3photo 4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Base Ingredients (items to CLEAN this recipe up will be listed in ( ) and/or listed next to an asterisk*):

  • All natural won ton wrappers – 24 total, 2 per cup, for a total of 12 “cupcakes” (*CLEAN wonton wrappers recipe)
  • 1/3 lb ground turkey*, ground chicken breast*, or super lean (90-95% lean) ground beef – browned & seasoned to taste
  • all natural NO SUGAR/NO SALT/NO PRESERVATIVES added tomato sauce/pasta sauce, or freshly made sauce *

(there ARE clean versions of pasta sauce in your regular grocery store – be sure to READ the labels.  As a general rule, there should be no more than 5 ingredients – not including spices – in anything on the shelf to be considered “clean”, from what I have come to understand.)

  •  CHEESE: mozzarella (low moisture part skim), parmesan (NOT the kind in the can!), & ricotta (OMIT ricotta for sure if going for totally clean)  – one or all dependent on your personal preference. *BE SURE TO READ THE LABELS*. More on CLEAN DAIRY products here.

 

Base Directions (layering sequence is up to you)

Layer as follows in a NON-STICK cupcake pan:

  • wonton/cheese/meat (or veggie – be sure to season the veggies first!)/sauce (about 1 tsp of each ingredient per layer)
  • REPEAT, and top the 2nd layer with the freshly grated*/shredded cheese of your choice.
  • Bake for 20 minutes on 375. Lest rest for 10 minutes before removing from pan.

Nutritional info for the wontons, as listed in this recipe are pictured below. Additionally, I found a great mix of freeze dried herbs that I’ve been using for alot of my meals.

photo 1

photo 2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

NOTES:

I am BY NO MEANS an authority on clean eating, nor am I a nutritionist.  I’m just learning as I go along and trying to help offer up some better alternatives for every day foods that we love!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Recipe: Buffalo Chicken “Cupcakes” (you’re welcome!) « The Vanishing Vixen
  2. trialsinfood
    Jan 27, 2013 @ 23:18:17

    looks good! what a great idea!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers