Recipe: Buffalo Chicken “Cupcakes” (you’re welcome!)

bcc3

Let me first preface this by saying that CLEAN EATING is best.

I get it. (and you should, too)

However, due to a limited food budget, I can’t always totally “clean” everything up.  The next best thing for me, is to make it as healthy (ie: lower calories and reduced fat) as possible.

That said, I decided to try a different version of the savory “cupcake” since it seemed to go over well with everyone I shared the recipe with (you can check out the Lasagna cupcake recipe HERE) I just needed to find something worthy that would make me want to give it a go. I had heard rumors of a buffalo chicken cupcake circulating on Pinterest, but upon doing my research, was not impressed with what I found.

I’m rather picky (go figure)…and I HATE bleu cheese. But I DO have a great buffalo chicken dip “concoction” that everyone seems to lovvvvve (full of fat & calories, no doubt!)…and I decided to tweak that a bit, and use it as the base for this version of savory ‘cupcake’.

You are SOOOOOOO gonna love these!! bcc1
While this is not a CLEAN recipe… it IS  a delicious, low-fat alternative to something I love. (Granted, due to the fact that I am a bariatric surgery patient, I can only consume one or two of these at one sitting…but the ingredients keep this on the healthy side, no matter the serving size you choose)

What I did was loosely based on what I do for the dip.  I also only made 6 cupcakes, so you will need to double my measurements for a full pan. I will work on tweaking the recipe each time I make it – but for now…

Base ingredients & recipe (no real measurements, I just went with what felt good *lol*) –  here goes:

  • All natural won ton wrappers (2 for each “cupcake – more info/nutrition for these won ton wrappers HERE)
  •  shredded chicken breast (about 1 cup; broiled/sauteed/boiled/roasted. YOUR CHOICE; sea salt & pepper to taste. I also used some dried spices)
  • hot sauce (to taste!)
  • Reduced Fat/Fat Free Cream Cheese (about 4oz – I used the Weight Watchers reduced fat Cream Cheese Spread – you can use FF cream cheese to also)
  • Light /Fat Free Bleu Cheese dressing (about 1/4 cup – I HATE b.c., so I opted for Ranch)
  • Reduced Fat shredded cheese (about 1/2 cup – I opted for a mexican cheddar/jack blend, but that is up to you)

bcc2

1. Toss the shredded chicken in hot sauce & set aside.

2. Take half the package of cream cheese and warm (about 30 seconds) until soft enough to blend with a fork. Pour about 3 TBSP of dressing (bleu cheese or ranch), and 1/4 cup shredded cheese and mix.

3. After you’ve lined the muffin  pan with the 1st won ton wrapper layers, continue to layer as follows:

  • Cream cheese mixture (about 1 tsp)
  • Dash hot sauce
  • Chicken
  • Wonton
  • REPEAT (do not add a 3rd wonton)
  • Top 2nd chicken layer with a sprinkle of shredded cheese

Bake at 350 for about 15 mins.

THE BEST PART OF THIS RECIPE (for me)? See image below under dinner (based on the info I plugged into My Fitness Pal, for 2 “cupcakes”. You could eliminate the 2nd layer of wontons if you like, but as is, roughly only about 300 calories for some seriously satisfying yummy goodness! Pair a couple with some fresh veggies, and you’re golden!!!

11

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. candy sharon
    Feb 04, 2013 @ 23:09:50

    this looks good…..also love the lasagna cupcakes……….

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers