Something old? Something new!

il_fullxfull.158415996

 

I’m not really good with change.

AT ALL!

I don’t embrace it as I should.

AT ALL!

 

But along this journey, there have been LOTS of changes.  Especially where food is concerned. What, how much, and the type of food. Things that I love I not longer eat by the long ton. And things that I never used to eat are beginning to find a place in my daily meal plan.

 

Incorporating clean eating has not come without some challenges. Since I started the 1st DietBet challenge a few weeks ago, I’m glad to say that I’m at about 85% clean eating – and can definitely tell the difference in how I feel.  AND the scale has started to move. FINALLY. Not dramatically so – but on average, about a pound a week. And I’m ok with that.

 

It stands to reason that as I grow in health, I’m open to other food options that I may not have considered before. Vegetarian fare is not something I ever would have considered for myself.  I LOVE chicken. Even more than bread & pasta…and that’s saying ALOT. I can live without beef, and even pork (so long as there is turkey pepperoni on the market)  But not long ago, I was preparing dinner for my daughter – veggie pasta and green beans – and I was complaining because I didnt take out the chicken tenderloins to cook.  She said “that’s ok. I don’t have to eat meat every time”. Direct quote from my 4 year old. *SMH*  It was THAT moment that sparked the idea of having some vegetarian meals on heavy rotation.

 

Fast forward: I’ve always wanted to try “meatless” products (a’la Boca/Morningstar Farms/Quorn/Gardein and the like). In fact, I have had a couple of Boca “burgers” (Blackbean. Meh *shrug*). I wasn’t sold, though.  Then last week, my co-worker (a vegetarian) let me taste a piece of her meatless “chicken” patties.  I was FLOORED! It tasted like a chicken nugget! I was befuzzled… Could it be that I had been missing out on the opportunity to have a meatless meal 980acee8673711e2a4d822000a1f924b_7that I actually enjoyed?!?

That night, I hi-tailed it to the grocery store and decided to go with the Morningstar Farms Buffalo “wings”. Mannnnn LISTEN: I was not prepared for HOW GOOD those things tasted!!! Crispity. Crunchety. Spicy. Yummery-goodness. No qualms with the texture, either – much to my surprise.

I figured if I could somehow swap out my daughter’s regular chicken nuggets for some veggie “chik’n” nuggets (not the spicy ones of course, just regular ole nuggets), we may be on to something. To my delight – she didn’t bat an eye or miss a beat, or question them. She ate them with glee and even commented that they were the “best ever”.  How’s THAT for change?!

*side note: a few weeks ago I managed to dupe the finicky 4 year old with spaghetti squash and then the next week, with some shirataki “miracle noodles” (though I used a different name brand) to replace pasta. I’m still going to do the veggie pasta or 100% whole wheat  pasta on occasion, but I’m loving being able to replace some of the things we love with healthier versions*

422290_10151408543713674_69860303_n

spaghetti squash w/turkey sausage, spinach, & parm cheese!

735104_10151425427333674_1480322643_n

shirataki noodles – low cal, low carb!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I guess all of that is to say – you never know what you like – or DON’T like – until you try it!  I know for sure that the ONLY way I’ll be able to keep on this journey and be successful, is to broaden my horizons & palette when it comes to different foods…so I’m not eating the same thing every day.

734881_10151437076868674_1800670771_n

So……IF you are able to find products to help cut the fat/calories – without losing the taste, why not at least TRY it?

Some one in one of my fitness groups posted about powdered peanut butter (PB2*).  I thought “ick”.  But when I looked up the nutritional info, and did some calculations of how many calories/fat I’m consuming by adding natural peanut butter into my protein shakes and such, I figured I’d give it a try.  Again – PLEASANTLY SURPRISED! Now I can layer on the flavor without adding unecessary fat & calories. (*PB2 is ALL NATURAL, but not “clean”. The only ingredients are peanuts, salt, & sugar. The chocolate one has cocoa powder, of course)

I’m excited about all of the changes taking place.  And the BEST part, is that my daughter is paying attention. SHE is making better decisions (when given the opportunity) because she sees ME making them.  Case in point:  I had a super Proud Mommy moment this week. Mini asked for a snack-bag of chips like her uncle was eating. Without a thought, I said OK…because it’s notphoto(7) something she normally eats, or even asks for.  She returned from the pantry with some applesauce and says “I changed my mind, Mommy. I want to eat healthy like YOU” – THAT RIGHT THERE… MAKES IT ALL WORTH IT. The fact that she CHOSE FOR HERSELF the best possible option means I really am doing something right. Not just for me, but her too.

It’s never too late (or too early!) to grow your tastebuds in the name of health.

Give it a try.

I DARE YOU.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers