2 for 1 Recipe(s): Banana-Walnut-Blueberry Protein Pancakes & Easy Omelettes

Administrative note: as a general rule of thumb, if you see something I’m posting a “recipe” for, it’s something that I’ve worked into my own lil’ mix of something I saw somewhere else – either that, or an experiment of bringing together my favorite foods/flavors/things and attempting to make them more healthy. That’s it.  Not a chef but any stretch of the imagination – I just know what I like. My dietary needs  (and portions) are a bit different than most due to my weightloss surgery (particularly getting in enough protein)…but this food is good for eating for ANYone.

Now…let’s get to the grub

This protein pancake re-mix is based off of the recipe I posted last week. I did add the milled flaxseed as planned to beef up the fluffiness this go round) photo 1

BANANA WALNUT BLUEBERRY PROTEIN PANCAKES

  • 1 scoop of protein powder
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 dollop (I’m guessing maybe a heaping TBSP) of GREEK yogart – I used plain, but for added flavor you can use flavored, though it will add calories
  • splash of milk (as needed to thin out batter, BUT batter will NOT be as thick as regular batter)
  • 1 scoop of protein powder (I used vanilla, but chocolate would work just as well for this)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp milled/ground flaxseed* (not required, but the texture/fluffiness I found was better with this batch)
  • 1/2 mashed banana (save the other half for topping!)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 dollop (I’m guessing maybe a heaping TBSP) of GREEK yogurt – I used plain, but for added flavor you can use flavored, though it will add calories
  • splash of milk (as needed to thin out batter, HOWEVER, batter will NOT be as thick as regular batter)

After blending all of the ingredients, cook using your usual method of making pancakes. This go round, I used organic virgin coconut oil – which added a level of flavor and deep golden color that I loved!

I topped these with sliced bananas, blueberries, walnuts, & organic maple agave nectar. Delishhhhhh.

EASY (microwave) OMELET

I know this is probably nothing new to most folks, but I get asked about the “recipe” alot, so I decided to post.  It’s quite simple, really:

photo 2(1)

  • 1 egg
  • splash milk (your preference)
  • non stick cooking spray
  • your favorite omelet ingredients
  • bowl (regular cereal size is fine)

 

      spray the bowl with non stick cooking spray; crack & scramble the egg (add your favorite things & scramble again to fully mix); microwave for approximately 2  minutes (I use 2 minutes, as I like my eggs hard. Also, if you use more than one egg or ALOT of additions to your omelet, the cooking time will increase)

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers