Recipe: 2 ingredient cookies!!

I’d been hearing about these cookies for some time, but just got around to test-driving the recipe.  And while the original/base recipe truly does only call for 2 ingredients (bananas & rolled oats – baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes) – as usual, I’ve put my own spin on it.

These are 100% NATURAL, HEALTHY “cookies” – that have served as an alternative breakfast/dessert option. Now, I’ve done several versions – to include a “protein bar” version. But here I will just outline the basics, and what I’ve tried that have turned out to be my favorites.  Best served right out of the oven!

photo 1(1)

Get this – BEFORE any add-ins, the ENTIRE BATCH of cookies (14-16 depending on the size) is roughly only 500 calories!! (2 medium sized bananas = about 210 cals; 1 cup of oats = about 300 cals, so even if you wolf down half, it’s all good! Or as the poster of the original recipe states “…If I ate 8 cookies, I’ve had: 1 banana, 1/2 cup of oats, and half a handful of chocolate chips and walnuts. Amazing. Leave out the chocolate chips and they are all health…”)

For the “protein” version – added a scoop of whey protein powder & 2 TBSP of greek yogart which added roughly 150 calories – to the ENTIRE batch.

For my favorites versions, I usually split one batch into thirds (or make a half batch), and add one or two “mix-ins” (no including spice/cocoa powder) roughly 1 TBSP each. Again, the additions are minimal and will not add a significant amount of calories to the mini-batches.  I only can eat 3 at one sitting, so I’m not sweating the additional calories.

My faves:

  • Oatmeal Raisin – add cinnamon & raisins
  • Banana Nut Bread – add cinnamon, walnuts, & raisins/dried cranberries (shown below)
  • Almond Joy – add cocoa powder, almonds, coconut flakes (shown below)
  • Chocolate Chip  – add vanilla extract, dark choco chips, & nuts if you like
  • Peppermint Patty – add peppermint extract & cocoa powder
  • Cafe Cocoa – add coffee extract, cocoa powder, & chocolate chips

photo 2(2)

I believe that the possibilities with these are endless (and YUMMY!)

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers