Recipe: Protein PANCAKES! (and who doesn’t love PANCAKES?!?!)

download3Well, I have found another breakfast option that will help me stay on track, but also give me plenty of room for flavors/textures/layers. The PROTEIN PANCAKE!! It’s not totally “clean” due to the protein powder (and whatever else you may decide to add to it) – but it IS healthy! And that’s the goal…

download

I have been scouring The Interwebs for a quick & easy recipe since there are so many out there. Based on them, this is what I came up with for a BASE recipe:

  • 1 scoop of protein powder
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 dollop (I’m guessing maybe a heaping TBSP) of GREEK yogart – I used plain, but for added flavor you can use flavored, though it will add calories
  • splash of milk (as needed to thin out batter, BUT batter will NOT be as thick as regular batter)

Today, I went with chocolate protein & a dash of cinnamon along with the other ingredients. I cooked with Pam cooking spray today, but next time, I’m going to try coconut oil. I finished them off with chopped pecans, diced strawberries, maple flavored organic agave nectar & fat-free whipped cream. DIVINE!!! (kid tested & approved, too!)

download2

From here, there are endless possibilities & incarnations.  And though they aren’t as fluffy as regular pancakes, you can beef up the batter with one/more of the following – which I will be doing on the next batch. A little trial & error never hurt!

  • 2 TBSP whole wheat/almond/coconut/etc FLOUR
  • 2 TBSP rolled oats
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • Flax/Chia seeds (ground)

Additionally, there is SO much you can do with the layers of flavor (in the batter and/or as a topping), too.  some examples that I plan to test are:

  • Flavored extracts
  • Fruit (dried/frozen/fresh fruit (NO SUGAR ADDED if possible!)
  • Dark chocolate chips (a few won’t hurt!)
  • Peanut butter (PB2 would be GREAT for this as it will add all the flavor and very few calories/fat)
  • 100% pure maple syrup
  • agave nectar
  • organic honey
  • flavored yogurt
  • nuts
  • applesauce
  • dried coconut

I’m already thinking about what I may like to try next: Maybe peanut butter & jelly (raisins)? Or Choco-coconut? Perhaps Peach-pecan? Even Peanut butter-banana? How about chocolate-mint?

*DROOL*

Really beginning to love the possibilities.  I hope you do, too!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 2 for 1 Recipe(s): Banana-Walnut-Blueberry Protein Pancakes & Easy Omelettes « The Vanishing Vixen

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers