what “average” looks like

According to research (and I use that term loosely), it has been said that the average size woman in America is a Size 14. Not size 2, 4, 6, etc. O_o FOUR.TEEN. (one of the many – more entertaining – articles can be read here).

what "average" looks like

 

Welp. I’ve MADE it! I am officially “Average”!

 

A size 14 – solid.  Granted, it’s been hit or miss, and dependent on cut up to this point…but to me it’s been made official because I can get on a  pair of size 14 JEANS…and still BREATHE! *lol*  (straight size, not plus size *cheezin*).

That has always been an issue for me.  I’m what you might call voluptuous & curvy or ‘hourglass’ body type…in terms boobs/waist/hips ratio.  Decidedly “bottom heavy” [in my mind], because – I do/have always carry/carried a majority of my weight in my lower portion —  Mas Grande Queso Thighs.  That hasn’t changed. (and that, my friends, is why you will NEVER –  no matter WHAT size I get to ultimately – see me with my stems on display. EVER. So perish the thought…)

Admittedly, I still really have body issues when I look in the mirror. Because I STILL see size 24 when I’m standing in mirror in all my deflated, saggy-boob’d, tummy pouch’d, arm-meat flap’d, thunder[clappin]thigh’d glory.  There is no shaking that.

(Probably, because I’ll never have that BOOM! BANG! POW! Beyonce’ body…but I digress.)

HOWEVER, when I put on my clothes? *head nod*

Yup! I see it…Finally!

Me.

In all my size 14 glory.

Who thought being “average” could ever feel so dayum good?  🙂

S/N: Size 12 –  I’m commin fo dat @$$.  Just you “weight”…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tara James-Wallace
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 13:42:59

    I was JUST about to ask you how it felt when I saw this post. Good job Gina!

    Reply

  2. Linay
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 13:16:18

    Keep up the good work Gina-Tae! I’m so glad for you. I start my “diet” tomorrow. I’ve NEVER officially been on a “diet” but I’m going to actually give this one a shot. I just need my tum-tum, thunder-thighs, and turkey-flaps (my arms) to disappear! I have faith in this diet because I’ve seen some miraculous transformations RIGHT before my eyes! If I can drop 20#s by my birthday I’ll be a HAPPY CAMPER! (December 16th is the deciding day)

    Reply

  3. The IMP
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:40:07

    The IMP says…………oh, nevermind…….we all know what he says. Good luck, great job young lady!!!!

    Reply

  4. Tracey J. Matthews
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 12:36:13

    WOOOOOORRRK!

    Reply

  5. Kween
    Oct 21, 2011 @ 11:58:29

    I’m SO proud of you…you look FRICKIN FABULOUS!!! Average “size”…maybe? Average WOMAN? NEVER!!! Don’t Vanish too much Vixen…lol

    *giggling at you “gunning” for size 12* GET EM!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers