Happy Sleeve-i-Versary to Me!!!

Before/After

One Year.

One.

HUNDRED.

#.

Wow…

Size 24

I thought I’d have alot to say. Waxing poetic about the journey. But really? I’m just happy. Healthier than I was a year ago. More conscious of what I put into my body. Better at maximizing whatever physical activities I can…There is alot to be said for that.

 

 

Size 14

Though I’ve plateaued for the moment – I know it will come off…eventually.  I’m only a few # away from “Onederland” which was a MAJOR anniversary goal that I’m kinda disappointed that I didn’t make, but… OH WELL.   My doc is happy, and said I’m right on track. 4-6 more months will be my 16-18 month range for trying to get all the extra weight off, though that lofty. I was told 2 years is far more realistic – because the less you have to lose, the slower it starts to come off. We shall SEE about that.

 

 

None-the-less: My back has stopped hurting. My hips are happily swaying from side to side while thanking me. My knees are now chugging along like a well-oiled machine – INSTEAD instead of threatening to give out on me with every step.

 

 

Feeling it!

I feel like a new person (and according to most folks, LOOK like one too – though my mind still has a problem reconciling the dramatic loss). I can run & play with my daughter.  I can fit comfortably into my chair on the bus, train, booth, etc.  I can go into a store and NOT have to slink to the back with the PLUS sizes and buy right off the rack in the regular Misses or Jr. Section. *head nod*

 

 

Yup. I can’t complain. And even if I could…I WOULDNT. I’ve come too far. And even with about 50# to go, I know it will come [off]. Slow & steady wins the race, right?

 

So, on my surgery anniversary (as with my wedding anniversary at the end of this week) – I am re-committing myself to this journey. Re-committing myself to a more healthy way of living. And more importantly, re-committing myself to LOVING myself, whatever state my body is in…Saggy boobs. Arm Flaps. And All.  Because despite some insecurities about my “new” form (mainly my disdain that my cleavage ain’t what it used to be)…I still look DAMN. GOOD.

 

*cheers* to the next leg of this race.  I’ll check in on the other side of 200!

all the best!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 2 for 1 Recipe(s): Banana-Walnut-Blueberry Protein Pancakes & Easy Omelettes « The Vanishing Vixen
  2. Tracey J. Matthews
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 19:18:28

    In my best officer and a Gentleman voice… Way to GO, Gina… Way to GO….

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers