2038

2038.

#winning

That was the bib number from my first 5k “race”.
(Granted, I’ve done other 5k’s, but only as fundraisers/leisurely strolls.  This time, I was chipped, time recorded, and official results published.)

I must say… I surprised myself. My only real goal was to finish [not last].  I did that, and then some! I wasn’t second, or third, or even tenth to last! There were about 29 people eating my dust *sniggle* I came in 284 out of 314, with an average of 16.4 minutes per mile.  THAT RIGHT THERE blew my mind.  And you know what?

I.
Want.
MORE!

My body was sore, but I got up with ease the next morning. Even with the thought to go out for a run.  And even though I didn’t, the fact that it was on my mind to get back out there…is saying…ALOT.

That one single accomplishment, made something CLICK, for me.

 

One of the most memorable days of my life!

My body can do soooo much more than I give it credit for.  To that end, I’ve signed [this body] up for another 5k on May 6th (3 weeks away!). And another on June 30.  And another on July 14. And another on August 12. And another on September 8.

And then…

*gulp*

I accepted the challenge issued by a friend of mine (A real-life IRON GIRL) to do the MCM 10k in October. *sigh*
That gives me 6 months to get my @$$ in gear. 6 months to shave 2 minutes off my mile-time (must be able to maintain a 15 minute mile). And ironically, a little less than 6 months to get to my goal weight by my 2 year surgery anniversary (September 20).

I haven’t gotten on the scale in well over a month, so I have no idea where I am with my weight.  I suppose I need to do that to get an idea of what exactly I’m aiming for.  What I do know, is that I’m becoming less concerned with numbers…and more concerned with overall fitness, core strength, and endurance. I’d venture to say that forcing my body into submission by way of “perpetual training” for these monthly running events, I’ll also be forcing this last 40-50# to pack their bags and get up off me!
Small Side Note: I have noticed that when planning a run [trot/jog/whateveryouwannacallit], my eating is different. There are somethings thatI don’t want in my body when I’m trying to maintain a distance. And I’m far more conscious of what I put in my mouth.  I know it should always be like that, but it isn’t.  So now that all parts of this machine are fitting (and hopefully working) together, I can see BIG [overall] results.

I also would be remiss if I didn’t mention the fact that I have a truly amazing support system in place that has helped me stay focus.  I had a good friend of mine run this race with me – and plan to do at least one more together. As well as friends who showed up to cheer me over the finish line.

I’m all out of excuses.

I’m made of awesome. It was time that I realized and owned it.

Now, if you’ll excuse me… I have to “run”…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: REBEL [with a cause] « The Vanishing Vixen
  2. dasumner
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 12:34:50

    I had been telling you for quite some time that you’re stronger than you think. Now that you’re starting to acknowledge that, the possibilities are endless: 5K, 10K, long distance bike rides, you name it. As you start to embrace the active lifestyle even more you’ll become an “athlete” and be able to enjoy all the benefits that come along with it. Others will talk of wanting to run miles or rock climb or lift weights and you’ll be able to listen and know that you can already do it.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: The Vanishing Vixen
  4. Sheila
    Apr 19, 2012 @ 07:18:47

    Congratulations!!! I love that you did this and I love that you want more! Good idea to sign up for all those races and have a goal in mind…woo hoo!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers