Recipe: Refrigerator Oatmeal (YOU WILL THANK ME!)

601115_10151418554818674_1879615597_n

*editors note: I’ve create some new flavors of this wonderfully good stuff!* 

So I’d been hearing alot about the phenomenon of this “no cook” refrigerator oatmeal and there had been numerous posts on FB over the past few weeks & I decided to give it a go. (Google it for more info & recipe ideas)  I must say I am TOTALLY hooked on this stuff!!  It may sound odd, or seem weird, but the idea of pre-planning & pre-prepping (if you will) is a MUST for me to stay on course.

I’ve included the base recipe I use, as well as the different variations that I created based on what I already had in the kitchen. You’ll need small Mason jars or containers. 1 for each flavor you will make. I used small size/single serving plastic containers.

 

 

Base recipe:

1/4 cup old fashioned oats (NOT quick/instant)

1/4 cup no fat Greek yogurt (preferably PLAIN)

1/4 cup milk (whatever you have on hand – I use almond, almond-coconut blend, or rice milk)

1 TBSP chia seed (more info on this SUPER FOOD here)

1 TBSP organic agave nectar (organic honey or pure maple syrup will work just fine)

*please note: the use of flavored extracts is a personal preference to boost flavor and is not required*

I didn’t really measure anything after that, so I’m giving you the basics…

ALMOND JOY

(I updated my initial go at it because it was THAT good. Used coconut flakes in place of the extract I used the first time)

  • cocoa powder (about 1 TBSP)
  • coconut flakes (OR extract or BOTH – about 2 TBSP)
  • 100 calorie pack of cocoa roast almonds (plain old almonds is fine!)

VERY BERRY

  • mixed berries (fresh or frozen – about 1/2 cup)
  • strawberry extract

CHERRY PISTACHIO RASPBERRY

  • no sugar added dried cherries (about 2 TBSP)
  • shelled pistachios (about 1 TBSP)
  • raspberry extract (to taste)

PEACH WALNUT ALMOND

  • peaches (fresh or frozen – about 1/2 cup)
  • 100 calorie pack of almonds & walnuts
  • almond extract (to taste)

APPLE CINNAMON WALNUT ALMOND

  • apples (diced – about 1/2 cup)
  • raisins (or dried cranberries NO SUGAR ADDED or BOTH – about 2 TBSP)
  • cinnamon (to taste)
  • 100 calorie pack of almonds & walnuts

Will be trying as many different flavor combos of this as I can.  The possibilities are TRULY endless!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Recipe update: new refrigerator oatmeal flavor combo’s « The Vanishing Vixen
  2. Trackback: Mmmmm…MAPLE! « The Vanishing Vixen
  3. Trackback: Recipe UPDATE: More Flavors of Refrigerator Oatmeal « The Vanishing Vixen
  4. Trackback: Recipe: Piña Colada, anyone? « The Vanishing Vixen
  5. Tanisha
    Jan 24, 2013 @ 21:06:03

    I made “peach cobbler” and cranberry pecan . Peaches, vanilla extract, allspice, and pecans for the cobbler. Craisins and pecans for the other. Taking about YUMMY!

    Reply

    • V. Vixen
      Jan 24, 2013 @ 21:53:28

      I made a peach cobbler smoothie and thought to so it for the oatmeal. Totally overlooked the pecans tho. I think that will be in my next batch. Thanks!!!!

      Reply

      • Tanisha
        Jan 24, 2013 @ 22:00:04

        I saw your peach cobbler smoothie after I posted the oatmeal version. I’ve also tried heating it briefly before eating. Most times I eat it at room temp. Within an hour of removing from fridge.

    • V. Vixen
      Jan 24, 2013 @ 21:55:02

      Also gonna do a Piña Colada (pineapple-coconut) and strawberry shortcake!!

      Reply

      • Tanisha
        Jan 24, 2013 @ 22:02:50

        I’ve done a pina colada version with pineapples and coconut milk. Will add shredded/grated coconut the next time. The varieties are endless.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers