Phine, re-defined…

10/2009

 

Take a good look. This is what Morbid Obesity looks like. 

Let me preface this by saying that at first I was going to keep it all a hush-hush big super secret squirrel secret. But I figured blogging would not only help me chronicle my journey, but serve as a sounding board. Of course I run the risk of opening myself up to criticism and negativity. But I figured…they talked about Jesus they’ll talk about me too. And what’s more is – I really don’t give a rat’s sweaty nads. *shrug* Let me just say this now: keep your negative commentary to yourself. I’m not entertaining it here. ( And miss me w/the bull$h!t while you’re at it.)
 

With that said… 

I’ve never had a problem with being full-figured. In fact, I’ve embraced it. It’s a part of the me that I’ve been proud to be. Even flaunted my curves. And its not like I’ve been starved for attention. Most…well, a lot (only basing on what I’ve been told) of men (women too) think that I’m (are you ready for this?) SEXY. I’m not bragging at all…but can you imagine? Me, at 298lbs…on a 5’3″ frame. What doctors frown at in disapproval. What some people in public look at in disgust…but yet others…desire. To this day. As recently as an hour ago. 

8/2008

 

*smh kinda confused*  

Admittedly, I’ve thought the same thing for a long time. My self esteem has remained in its proper sometimes over-elevated place. The men folk (husband included) never seemed to have had a problem with it, so I never had a problem with it… 

Until now. I’m at my biggest ever. Almost 30lbs more than I weighed when I was 9 months pregnant (2 years ago). I’m uncomfortable. I don’t like what I see in the mirror any more. My feet hurt. My knees ache. (ironically enough, the VERY reason why working out has been such a chore – that aside from time: 9-5 job, jewelry biz, almost 2 year old daughter, and a hubby that works nights/weekends).  And now, my once high (sometimes too high) self esteem has taken a nosedive. So what to do?? 

9/2002

 

6/2004

 

I’ve done the diets, the shakes, the cleanses,  the “lifestyle change”, the pills, the work-out regimen, etc… Something has to be done. NOW.  So after about 6 months of mulling it over, I’ve opted to have the Lapband surgery. In fact, that’s the entire reason for this blog. My goal is 75-100lbs. Realistically, at 200lbs, I’ll still be +size…but ALOT better off than I am now. 

Know, I know what your thinking: “fat lazy ass is taking the easy way out” *insert eyeroll, huffing, headshaking here*. But is it really the easy way out? I somehow doubt it. And knowing 7 people personally who have had various type of weightloss surgery, and “easy” is the last thing that has been described: I’ve been told to expect a difficult emotional road of high highs & low lows, self-esteem issues about my new body (and the sagging skin that used to be filled out by fat, my newly deflated “orangutan tiddies” that are now  so round and full of life) along with adjusting to a new, healthier way of life. 

What, you thought it was gonna be all peaches & cream? Noooo.  I will be undergoing nutritional & fitness counseling, emotional counseling/support, and other various tests. Along with, again,  figuring out who I am after all of this is said and done. And of course, STAYING in shape after I get there, eating right, and being ever vigilant not to allow myself to come back to this place again. So if you think it’s the easy way out… well, you can kiss my ENTIRE fat ass as you kick rocks.  What may have worked for you or someone else, doesn’t work for everyone. So I’mdoing what I have to do. 

9/2006

 

I’m making a decision to better my life, and thereby, my family’s life. I will learn healthier habits to pass on to my daughter and share with my husband, as well as actually be around a lot longer to see her grow up, and grow into the olden golden years with her daddy.  This vixen, is about to change her game up, for good. 

I have my physical exam and initial info session at the Bariatric Surgeon’s office on Monday. Then comes the consult to chart the path forward, counseling, etc. I will join the Million Pound Challlenge to help get me started on the right track. But that’s Monday – and it’s going to be a life-changing day. So this weekend, I’m gettin it in. *lol* I’m gonna eat what I want…probably for the last time (at least for a long time);
Celebrate my 35th bday (late, bc of all the snow) and celebrate in anticipation of a new life and a new, even sexier, healthier me… I’m excited. If I’m still considered sexy at a size 22/24…imagine what ill look like (back) in a size 16? I know one thing, y’all better watch out *uh oh uh oh uh oh uh oh* G’yonce in the houssssse. 

2/2009

 

I can only pray that by sharing this journey, it will garner some support & encouragement from friends, acquaintances, and strangers alike. But even if it doesn’t, it’s no skin off my teeth. I’m CERTAIN that my words will touch or encourage SOMEONE out there. 

1/2010

 

Beauty can be found at ANY size. From a size 6 to 26. However, HEALTH cannot. And that’s all its about for me. Taking off some pounds to add some years to my life. 

Phine, re-defined… *sexy grin* 

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: [what's the] Hold Up?!?!?! « The Vanishing Vixen
  2. Trackback: Healthy is the new Sexy « The Vanishing Vixen
  3. Trackback: Phine, Re-defined (part II) « The Vanishing Vixen
  4. Monifa
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 14:14:38

    Gina, the number one thing I like about you is your swagger!!!!

    When I first met you, you are so posied, articulate, stylish, and beautiful person. I know this journey will be successful for you and I know in the time that I have gotten to know you, I know you are a determined person that gets the job done.

    I wish you all the best on this new endeavor and can not wait to see the new and improved Gina

    Reply

  5. Ms. Aja B.
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 10:41:01

    Gina! I am super proud of you! I know we only really know each other online, but I can admire anyone who is working to create a better life for themselves and their family. I have considered weight loss surgery myself. It is something I am still considering, but in the meantime, I am doing it the old fashioned way–hitting the gym three times a week, eating healthier foods, smaller portions, healthier snacks, etc.

    I am so excited to follow you on your journey. If you’re looking for support, you definitely have it from me!

    Continued blessings, Sis!

    Reply

  6. Sharon
    Mar 04, 2010 @ 06:45:49

    Gina, You never cease to amaze me. I’ve always admired your attitude about your size and like everyone else who knows you, think you are absolutely beautiful no matter big, small, or in-between. Plus, you are a true friend who stands by her friends and has stood by me.

    So, looking ar your chart, I can really see why NOW. You are in the 30th month of a 30-month cycle – wanting and needing something new in the way of identity. This new 30-month cycle actually starts in the area of your chart that represents self-identity (in the “late” sign of Aquarius), so you are right on schedule and on track. The really good news is what happens in 11 months, when that cycle marker passes over your Sun, which only happens once every 30 years. In the meantime, even though it is a “new start” there is a feeling of ending. Once the marker goes over your Sun, it is a brand new self and FOR GOOD. You could have chosen a much more “emotional” time but, in fact, the new energy is more mentally-oriented and will give you an ability to have an overview on the issue of your self-identity – so that is good news, too.

    I think you will be able to get in earlier than later for the actual surgery since you’ll be seen as mentally healthy, very motivated, and you’ll pass the tests with flying colors. In five months, that marker goes over Mars, which I think is the surgery, so look to the September timeframe for the surgery. You’ll have a sense of the “new you” in March/April of 2011 and for about 3 months, be in limbo, as other people slowly start to catch on (again, based on the 30-month marker, now passing over the Sun – the 11 month thing). You’ll make yourself very apaprent in March. You’ll have to be patient because you’ll want to be noticed and it will take a few months after that.

    You have a considerable amount of power and influence in terms of the public world. I can see all this leading to a career in weightloss, compassionately helping other people with their health and weight and being very capable in that way through your own example.

    The real challenge actually comes in, like they say, after it is all said and done – not until October of 2012. That’s why I am saying to prepare yourself even more, lifestyle-wise, because that is when the 30-month marker again moves into a new energy (Pisces), and that energy is more emotional and “feminine” (vs. masculine) and it is the feminine energies that tend to give up (i.e. submitting to “what is”) and go inward. Two and half years through that and you’ll have another great new start as the market goes into Aries, the “new start” energy (since it is the first sign and represents beginnings). It is the Pisces years you’ll need to focus on letting go of your past attitudes about weight and eating and may need attention on the emotional level. That way, when you get into Aries, you’ll be fresh and new feeling, getting a total overview.

    More good news (for the time I was talking about above, you go through Pisces) is the 30-year marker is quite focused on your relationships and the intimacy within them and then on having an overview on things. That will help you. As you may feel like giving up, your higher self is encouraging you and remembering the past years of the cycle and keeping you to task.

    Anyway, I really like your blog and your honesty about yourself. Somehow you are able to be yourself without looking like a fool (like me! if everyone knew everything I struggle with! haha!). The very last reading I did for someone was on the same issue. She’s been through it a couple of years ago but was a whole different boat because she didn’t have a relationship or marriage. When a man found her desirable and then dumped her – that was a blow. She had long given up on having partnership and when it came….well, pray that she regains what was lost. But that is the kind of thing that the doctors probably deal with the most and you already have that battle mostly won (but ya know, we try not to think of it as a battle! :-)).

    I hope this helps! Let me know if you have any questions.

    Love You!
    Sharon

    Reply

    • Starrdustt
      Mar 04, 2010 @ 07:28:01

      Sharon – have I told you how awesome you are lately?? You know I don’t make any big decisions w/out consulting you. So thank you…and than you for laying the path forward so I can get a better understanding. *whew* you just throughly…laid.it.DOWN!

      There a very good reason why I’ve been coming to you for 10+ years – you’ve NEVER steered me wrong. Friend, confidante, & super sunsignsunologist! I adore you… *love & hugs*

      Reply

  7. DeShanna
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 20:05:01

    Its not a big secret for me, but its not something a lot of people know. In Nove 2009, I had gastric bypass. I didn’t do it to be smaller or acceptable…I did it because I had the health issues of an old woman instead of the young 32 yr old woman that I was. As of this past Monday, I have lost a total of 63 lbs, and I am still losing. (I weigh once a week, but I can tell in my clothes.) I started out at 275 on sugery day wearing 26/28. I am now in size 18s, some L/XL clothes. So far, my weight lost has not been too drastic looking like others, and I always get compliments on how good I look. I noticed that I am getting more attention from men. However, for me, it was never about that. I just wanted, and needed to be heathier. So I congratulate you on your knew journey. Its not an easy way out, and the journey has had its ups and downs. But I am blessed and I feel a LOT better. In the end, if you think about it…you are also doing it for Mini-Me. I see too many young deaths in the papers nowadays.

    I have always thought you were a beautiful Diva of a Full-figured woman and I’ve always admired your style. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions about the whole WLS journey. I don’t regret my decison AT ALL.

    Reply

  8. Dee
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 19:18:18

    You helped me find my esteem babe and inspire me often!

    Reply

  9. Starrdustt
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 14:51:19

    having a *woooooooosahhhhhhhhhh* moment today, but it will pass. Thanks all for the encouragement!

    Reply

  10. SPUTT
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 14:49:08

    Sistah Sistah…..you are beautiful. I’m proud of you. Its all about being more healthy and being around longer for GiGi and Bruh. You will do phine….and the journey to your new lifestyle will be an experience….get ready and get it in!

    Love ya

    Reply

  11. Jeannette
    Feb 26, 2010 @ 11:47:36

    ****Standing up and applauding****

    I am proud of you Gina. The hell with whoever has anything negative to say. This is a life changing decision that will be great for you and your family. You will always have my love and support.

    Reply

  12. Cynthia
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 23:04:32

    I must say I am extremely proud of you Auntie. I remember when i 1st met you and I thought to myself she is BIG & BEAUTIFUL. I remember thinking look at her confidence and her SWAY!!!! You may not realize this but I struggled with being me for a long time and the funny thing is whenever I got too down on myself I always remember you. Looked at you and say DAMN now thats a bad b**ch. And if she loves her despite how big she is there is no reason to NOT love me. I am proud that you have made this step for you and Neicey-Poo and Unc too!!! I am here to support you in anyway…I love you!!!

    Reply

  13. afromamba
    Feb 25, 2010 @ 22:48:33

    You’re beautiful. Not because of being plus sized or any of that, but because of who you are. For those who don’t like it…eff em girl…eff em. This was so encouraging and what I NEEDED to read tonight. I was just in here crying after looking at pics I tagged of myself thinking, “Hmmmm, I look like I swallowed the chick in this picture WHOLE and washed it down with two root beers.”

    Reply

    • Starrdustt
      Feb 25, 2010 @ 23:01:48

      I’m glad it was for somebody and that this blog isn’t in vain. I really, really was very adamant about keeping all of this on the low-low…but dammit, Imma need some support. I’m not ashamed. and if anything, this journey should make for some funny musings. We shall see.

      (now, STOP being so hard on yourself. sheesh!)

      Reply

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 42 other subscribers